Moving forward….downsizing and minimizing?

As I settle into teaching, while my husband is still working full time at the Big Fruit, we often ponder what our next steps will be. One idea is to have my husband “retire” (aka leave the corporate rat race) and do his own thing. That kind of self-reflection and tinkering will take time. So the idea will be for us to save up enough money so we can live minimally while Jeff and I can start a business.

The best alternative at this point? Sell our house, reduce our debt, and move into something we already own. It probably means that we will have to move into a 450SF basement for a family of three. That is when the creativity of architects comes in. How do you make a small space livable as well as pleasurable? How will I push the concept of minimal living to a maximum?

Stay tuned.

Leave a comment